10. In 1791 the Constitutional Act was passed by the British Parliament. It divided Canada, then having a population of 161,311, into two provinces, known as Canada East and Canada West, or Upper Canada and Lower Canada. Each province received a separate Legislature, consisting of a Legislative Council appointed by the Crown, a Legislative Assembly elected by the people, and a Governor appointed by the Crown and responsible only to it.

11. In 1812-14 Canada was called upon to undergo a severe ordeal caused by the United States declaring war against Great Britain. The United States selected Canada as the first point of attack, but though Canada had less than 6,000 troops to defend 1,500 miles of frontier and a population under 300,000 to match itself against the eight million people of the United States, the Canadians, rallying as one man to the loyal support of their Government, so bore themselves throughout the two years' struggle which ensued, that, when it ended, the advantage lay clearly upon their side and the victories of Queenston Heights and Chateauguay are to-day pointed to with the same patriotic pride as the Englishman takes in Waterloo or the Frenchman in Austerlitz.

12. When the war was over, the people of Canada turned their attention to domestic matters and began their agitation for Responsible Government, which they never relaxed until in 1840 the Home Government, acting upon the suggestions contained in the report of Lord Durham on the state of the Canadas, determined upon the union of the two provinces and the acknowledgment, in the new Constitution of 1841, of the principle of Responsible Government.

13. The new agitation sprung out of the more rapid growth of population in Upper Canada compared with Lower Canada. It was a demand in Canada West for representation by population. It culminated in 1867 in the Union Act by which the Province of Canada was divided into two provinces (Ontario and Quebec) and, with New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, became the Dominion of Canada.

14. The first attempt to colonize Acadia (Nova Scotia) was made by the French in 1598. It was unsuccessful. A second and a third attempt in 1599 and 1600 proved abortive. In 1605 Baron de Poutrincourt, a French gentleman-adventurer, established Port Royal * (now Annapolis Royal), the first actual settlement by Europeans within the boundaries of what is now the Dominion of Canada. Nova Scotia was formally ceded to Great Britain in 1713. Under its first name, La Cadie (afterwards Acadia), Nova Scotia included a considerable portion of New Brunswick. In 1785 the latter was made a separate province. Prince Edward Island, previously named St. John's Island, annexed to Nova Scotia in 1763, was constituted a distinct colony in 1770. Cape Breton, separated politically from Nova Scotia in 1784, was re-annexed to the mother colony in 1820. Vancouver Island,

^{*} The little colony here established, after a fitful existence of several years was destroyed by the English under Argall, the bitter strife between the French and English nations, which disturbed the continent for one hundred and fifty years, there finding its beginning and making Port Royal famous to this day as the most frequently assaulted spot on this continent.